3 May 2014

  • Waffles

    April and May have quite a few holidays here in Thailand. Days off can be strategically taken to have, for example, a five-day weekend using only one vacation day. Since I am still relatively new at my job and am saving up my vacation time for my family’s visit this summer, I am not taking any time off. But I did decide to celebrate the long weekend by making waffles for breakfast.

    P1280807

    There are countless recipes for waffles, but I quite likeĀ the one on the Pioneer Woman Cooks website. Ree Drummond’s recipes are well tested and her waffles are light and crisp, exactly the quality I admire in a waffle. The trick is to whip the egg whites into stiff peaks and then fold them into the batter just before cooking. This helps the waffles puff up instead of turning soggy.

    Truthfully, I’ve not sure that waffles are as great a breakfast choice as they may have once been. I am reaching an age where a heavy, carb-loaded breakfast doesn’t give me strength to go out and plow a field. It just gives me the strength to take a long nap. Which may be perfectly fine since it is a long weekend.

     

Comments (14)

  • A waffle iron is the one piece of equipment I’m missing. I considered getting one when I was first married but they were just too much trouble (before teflon!). Since I’m not a big waffle eater the next best step is the eggo (sacrilege)! hehe! Your waffles do look tasty..

  • now I want a waffle.

  • I love waffles! I should try to them myself and I was actually thinking about getting the book you mentioned in your post, I follow her website and I love it.

  • I laughed out at the last paragraph! There is a place in one of the suburbs of Chicago where they serve waffles and pancakes and crepes loaded with cream, fruits, nuts and I think even some ice cream. When Sayeed played tennis for the state championship, we would go there and have that for brunch. Shouldn’t have done that. look what it did to me!

  • I’ve had good results from the Pioneer Woman recipes I’ve tried. I printed out the waffle recipe and one of these days I’ll give it a whirl. When I make waffles, I usually freeze most of them and we reheat them in the toaster oven like upscale Eggos.

    • Yes, I was considering doing that but the batch only gave me two leftovers. Maybe I ate too many at the initial breakfast!

  • i know what you mean. i rarely order a waffle anymore. then again, i’ve always associate it as a desert item, not as a breakfast item. the last time i had one was at GELARE ice cream parlor, last year. their waffle probably the best i’ve tasted here in indonesia and goes perfectly well with their creamy smooth gelato.

  • Waffle’s and sausage….Yummy!! Though I can no longer eat all those calories, they are still delicious, lol!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *