4 December 2013

  • An Umami Birthday Dinner

    Trying to catch everyone up on my recent activities, in November I celebrated my birthday by cooking a dinner for some of my friends. One friend had recently remodeled his condo and was itching to have a dinner party to show off the new open-format kitchen. Never shy about messing up, err… cooking in someone else’s kitchen, I accepted his offer and started planning a meal around the theme of umami.

    1450057_10152068465263377_634214758_n

    Umami is the fifth taste (after sweet, sour, salty, and bitter). A Japanese word, it describes the “savory,” “meaty,” or “fulfilling” quality. Umami is tasted through glutamates, a type of amino acid that is found in foods such as mushrooms, anchovies, fish sauce, tomatoes, Parmesan cheese, and MSG.

    P1270955

    The appetizer course featured three umami-rich items: a Parmesan and wild mushroom custard, miso and bacon glazed eggplant, and whole grain toasts with avocado and soy-sauce dressed sardines. This was probably a wee bit ambitious as there ended up being so much food that this course was almost a meal in itself.

    P1270957

    The “soup” course was a bit clever, if I say so myself. I borrowed a friend’s ice cream maker and turned a roasted tomato soup into a granita and served it with Parmesan sorbet on top. It really had all the flavors of a tomato soup (plus a little spicy as I added dried chilies) with cheese sprinkled on top, but it was frozen.

    P1270960

    The main course was balsamic vinegar marinated roast chicken with green olives. This excellent choice of a marinade makes for rich, flavorful, and moist meat. Will definitely repeat this recipe.

    P1270964

    Accompanying the main corse were garlic and black truffle infused mashed potatoes with more Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.

    P1270965

    We concluded the meal with a salad course, a Caesar salad with homemade dressing. This is the first time I’ve made Caesar dressing from scratch and it is incredibly easy and really much better than from a bottle. Served with homemade croutons with truffle salt.

    P1270975

    For dessert, I served an interesting Sicilian orange olive oil cake with homemade cardamom ice cream. The cake was interesting because it is made by quartering and boiling oranges (unpeeled) in three changes of water and then pureeing the oranges, rind and all, and incorporating it into the batter. The result is a moist, intensely flavored cake. The cardamom ice cream was an excellent compliment to the cake.

    537099_10152068465003377_1108050018_n

    While there were some friends who weren’t present, the dinner itself was a success. I was very happy with the dishes and while I would probably not be as ambitious next time, I think many of the recipes are worth visiting again.

     

Comments (14)

  • A happy belated birthday to you! It looks amazing!! The soup is very clever and I’m lusting after the ice cream (and I don’t really like ice cream) it looks so very smooth and creamy!!! Looks like a wonderful celebration!

  • It all looks so good!! What day is your birthday? Mine was on the 25th….My husband, who’s three weeks older, was on the 4th….

    Happy belated birthday!! I do hope the day was a dream come true for you!!

  • It all looks and sounds delicious. I know I would be so full to try to eat that much. Reminds me of a time long ago when I was dating an Italian and went to his grandmother’s for Thanksgiving. There were so many courses I was getting full long before the turkey, and I think she only put that course in for tradition.
    I’m glad you had a lovely birthday with friends and good food. May the year bring you many blessings.

    • Many thanks for the birthday wishes. Yes, I find the challenge when I’m cooking is to keep the food to a reasonable level. “Restraint” isn’t in my vocab.

  • The dishes look amazing, and I am drooling.

  • I saw the pics on your Instagram and am glad you put up an entry. Wow – this is an amazing dinner.

  • Your post is deserves better than the new Xanga presentation.

  • chris… err… my bday is coming up. just sayin. ;p
    ps: hey, you shaved!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *