1 December 2013

  • Back

    It has been over a month since I last posted. No good excuse for my absence. Just a combination of being very busy with many things and also finding that ever since the announcement of the transition to Xanga 2.0, the community that made blogging here such a pleasure has largely eroded. It becomes a vicious cycle, of course, since blogging less and spending less time reading and commenting on others’ blogs only erodes the community further.

    A friend who pitched in $50 to help keep Xanga alive, just because he likes reading my blog, asked about my absence. I guess I do owe it to him to keep blogging, don’t it? Plus, I despite my frequent activity on Instagram and Facebook, those platforms don’t lend themselves to longer-form writing. I need to exercise the literary part of my brain more often, so I choose to increase the frequency of my blogging.

    There is a lot that has been going on the past few weeks. For starters, after being laid off in February from my job of 13 years, I finally secured a job offer. The new job, which I’ll talk about more in a future post, begins in January so I still have more than a month to fill before then. Still, it is a relief to know that a regular paycheck will soon be coming. Although I’ve enjoyed the flexibility of freelance, it isn’t the best decision for me right now, financially.

    There are a lot of other things that have been happened, too. I’ll share more in the next few days as I ease back into blogging. Don’t know if anyone is left out there, but if you are, I’m back!

     

Comments (22)

  • Hello, welcome back, and Congratulations on your new job.
    You are right that those who decide this place isn’t what it used to be (it’s true) only help to erode it more by not reading, commenting and posting themselves. I am glad you have chosen to return. I enjoy your blogs.

    • As they say, if you aren’t part of the solution, you’re part of the problem. I need to be part of the solution.

  • Congrats on the new job Chris! I hope you find your new work environment conducive to your continued growth and success.

    Looking forward to your future blog entries!

    • Thank you. Am sure the new job will provide lots of growth for me. Already is and I haven’t even started officially.

  • Yay! You are back. I was thinking of you yesterday as the news was reporting on the violent protest in Bangkok. The radio said there were 7 people killed but the paper today said only one… still one is one too many! I’m so glad you are pending a new job. It is never an easy thing to be unemployed. I hope the new job is a fulfilling one (with ample remuneration)! I can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to!

    • Thank you. Right now I think the count settled at 3 killed and more than 100 injured. Protest season has returned… =(

  • glad you’re back-missed you

  • Glad you are there after your misadventure about job
    Take care of you. Bangkok is tumultuous at this time .
    In friendship
    Michel

    • Yes, the protests would give me lots to talk about but it is a mess in which I have no desire to become involved.

  • Good to see you back, Chris! I agree about the eroding community, but there is a good stalwart group still active here — it will be good to have your contributions again!

  • I just don’t see it lasting much longer anymore… :-(

  • Welcome back! Congradulations on the new job.

  • Hello! Welcome back!! I was wondering what happened to you….You are the main reason why I’m still here….

    Glad to have you back here among us!! Enjoy your week!! :-)

  • I have missed your posts here. I notice more and more people returning to Xanga. I totally agree with you about needing to post here. The more we write, the more will read.
    Welcome back Chris.

    • Perhaps as people go elsewhere, they find it isn’t as satisfying as the Xanga community and so choose to return.

  • yay. we have something to celebrate this coming gathering dinner in HK :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *